Parish Councils & Committees

At St. Matthew Catholic Community we are fortunate to have multiple councils and committees to guide and direct our parish. Individuals are elected to a council with term limits. Depending on the committee, individuals may join without a long-term commitment. Below are the committees and councils here at St. Matthew, along with meeting minutes.

Parish Committees

Buildings & Grounds Committee The mission is to assist the Parish in the management of the physical properties of the church. These include the worship space, school building, Nazareth House, parish center and the rectory. This committee is responsible for the maintenance and improvement of Parish facilities. These tasks include building repairs and maintenance, landscaping, lawn care, snow removal, and other duties when they arise. The duties are performed through a combination of volunteer labor, and contracted services. Members of the committee serve as leaders for recruitment and organization of volunteers. The committee serves as an advisory body to the Parish Council to identify facility issues and opportunities. Committee members include: Mike Ignasiak (chair), Penny Dart (parish office), Dick VanLangendon, Bob Leonowicz, Jim Genrick, Mark Messerschmidt, Orv Konop, Ambrose Kowalczyk, Marty Metzler, and Steve Smet. 

Justice & Human Concerns Committee works to bring Catholic Social Teaching alive in our parish. Pope Francis has captivated the attention and imaginations of many of us with his strong words and actions connecting following Christ and how we conduct ourselves in the world. Francis draws from the long tradition of Catholic social teaching to prod us to live and think differently. Leading us by his example and teaching, he urges Catholics worldwide to better imitate Jesus in our daily lives. 

Evangelization and Catechesis Committee The goal is to explore ways to deepen people’s relationship with Christ, and to reach out to those who are disconnected from the faith community with the joy of the Gospel. Committee members are Kara Phernetton, Kathy Castelaz, Shirley Fox, Rosie Pavek, Katie Phernetton, John and Amy Weiss, Al Gooding, Fr. Bob and Mike Westenberg.

Worship Committee Our faith community welcomes all to join us at the table of the Lord to celebrate the Eucharist so that we may be fed by the Body and Blood of our Lord, Jesus Christ. At our Eucharistic celebrations one is nourished in Word and in Sacrament so that one can live out the missions of Jesus Christ in their daily living. It is our belief that “we are one body, one body in Christ and we do not stand alone”.

Parish Councils

Finance Council is the consultative body to the pastor in addressing the stewardship of the parish's finances and parish grounds. Members are: Bill Campion, Craig Liegel, Matt Gelb, Penny Dart, Tim Feldhausen, Craig Darling and Arlene Klika.

Click here for previous years minutes.

Parish Pastoral Council is the main consultative body to the pastor in fulfilling the parish's mission.

Parish Council Members 2020/2021 The Parish Council for the coming year will consist of Fr. Bob Kabat, Ann Weiss (trustee),Kelly Fitzgerald, Dianna Langer, Brenda Luedeman, Dick Peters, Matthew Raymaker, TJ Sorenson.

2020/2021 Meeting Minutes NOTE: Parish Council meets every other month.

September 2021

2019/2020 Meeting Minutes NOTE: Parish Council meets every other month.

January 2020
November 2019
September 2019

August 2019

2018/2019 Meeting Minutes
August 2018
September 2018
November 2018
January 2019
March 2019